Musical Analysis Competition  "Nicolas Slonimskij"
The piano sonata in Russia and in Ukraine within the period 1890-1930

Concorso Nicolas SlonimskijLettera di Nicolas Slonimskij



On the occasion of the one hundredth birthday of Nicolas Slonimskij (1994), one of the protagonists of the cultural and musical life of the 20th century, the Associazione Italia-Russia, in collaboration with the Accademia Filarmonica in Bologna and the Associazione Giovanile Musicale (A.Gi.Mus.), organize a Musical Analysis Competition. The Competition aims at promoting the study and deepening of a little known but rather important part of musical repertoire: the piano sonata in Russia and Ukraine.

The Competition is open to all interested Italian and foreign researchers, without age limitation. The participants have to produce the analysis of a piano sonata to be chosen among thoses proposed in the list attached to the rules.

The analyses, to be written in Italian without any limitations as regards the dealing with the contents, must not exceed a length corresponding to 40 typewritten pages, A4 size , (28 lines – 64 strokes).

The essays have to be sent in four copies, together with four copies of the sonata analyzed, to the Segreteria of “Concorso di Analisi Musicale Nicolas Slonimskij”, Associazione italia-Russia, Via San Vitale 2, 40126 Bologna, not later than 31 January 1995. The postmark will certify the date.

Should the participants wish to receive the musical score of the chosen Sonata, they will have to send a written request to the Segreteria of the Competition, enclosing the payment receipt of the sum of Ł25.000.

The indivisible prize consists of Ł1.500.000. The essays considered worthy may be marked out by the Judging Committee.

The works sent will not be given back and will be kept at the Library of the Accademia Filarmonica in Bologna. The Judging Committee reserves the right to propose the winning essay for an integral or abridged publication of the text.


A. Skrjabin: Sonata n. 1 in fa minore op. 6 (1892)
J. Vitols: Sonata n. 1(1893)
A. Skrjabin: Sonata n. 2 in sol # minore op. 19 (1897)
A. Skrjabin: Sonata n. 3 in fa minore op. 23 (1898)
A. Glazunov: Sonata n. 1 in si b minore op. 74 (1900)
A. Glazunov: Sonata n. 2 in mi maggiore op. 75 (1901)
J. Vitols: Sonata n. 4 (1902)
A. Zolotarev: Sonata op. 10 (1903)
A. Skrjabin: Sonata n. 4 in fa maggiore op. 30 (1903)
K. Szimanovski: Sonata n. 1 op. 5 (1904)
M. Balakirev: Sonata in si b minore (1905)
S. Rachmaninov: Sonata n. 1 in re minore op. 28(1907)
A. Skrjabin: Sonata n. 5 op. 53 (1907)
A. Ljapunov: Sonata in fa minore op. 27 (1908)
N. Mjaskovskij: Sonata n. 1 in re minore op. 6 (1908)
Th. Akimenko: Sonate fantastique op. 44 (1909)
S. Prokof’ev: Sonata n. 1 in fa minore op. 1(1909)
N. Medtner: Sonata n. 5 in sol minore op.
22 (1910)
K. Szimanovski: Sonata n. 2 in la maggiore op. 21(1910)
P. Juon: Sonatine op. 47 (1911)
A. Skrjabin: Sonata n 6 op. 62 (1911)
A. Skrjabin: Sonata n. 7 op. 64(1911)
N. Medtner: Sonata in do minore op. 25 n. 1(1911)
A. Skrjabin: Sonata n. 8 op. 66 (1912)
N. Medtner: Sonata in mi minore op. 25 n. 2 (1912)
N. Mjaskovskij: Sonatan. 2infa#minore op. 13(1912)
S. Rachmaninov: Sonata n. 2 in si b minore op. 36(1913)
A. Skrjabin: Sonata n. 9 op. 68 (1913)
F. Blumenfel’d: Sonata-Fantasia op. 46 (1913)
N. Medtner: Sonata-Ballade in fa# minore op. 27(1913)
S. Prokof’ev: Sonata n. 2 in re minore op. 14 (1913)
N. Roslavec: Sonata n.l in mi b (1914)
V. Ščerbacev: Sonata n. 2 op. 7
S. Fejnberg: Sonata op. 1 (1915)
N. Roslavec: Sonata n. 2 in do (1916)
K. Szimanovski: Sonata n. 3 op. 36 (1917)
S. Prokof’ev: Sonata n. 3 op. 28 (1917)
S. Prokof’ev: Sonata n. 4 op. 29 (1917)
A. Čerepnin: Sonata n. 1 in la minore op. 22 (1918)
S. Fejnberg: Sonata n. 4 op. 6 (1918)
N. Medtner: Sonata op. 39 n. 5 “Tragica” (1920)
N. Mjaskovskij: Sonata n. 3 in do minore op. 19 (1920)
S. Protopopov: Sonata n. 1 op. 1 (1921)
A. Aleksandrov: Sonata n. 2 op. 12 (1922)
S. Evseev: Sonata (1923)
A. Aleksandrov: Sonata n. 4 op. 19 (1923)
S.  Prokof’ev: Sonata n.
5 op. 38 (1923)
N. Roslavec: Sonata n.
5 (1923)
D. Melkich: Sonata n. 2 op. 11 “di sollevazione” (1923)
A. Veprik: Sonata n. 2 op. 5 (1924)
N. Mjaskovskij: Sonata n. 4 in do minore op. 27 (1924)
I. Stravinskij: Sonata (1924)
S. Protopopov: Sonata n. 2 op. 5 (1924)
L. Polovinkin: Sonata n. 2 op. 13 (1924)
J. A. Šaporin: Sonata n. 1 op. 5 (1924)
A. Fejnberg: Sonata n. 6 op. 13 (1925)
A. Aleksandrov: Sonata n. 5 op. 22 (1925)
A. Krejn: Sonata op. 34 (1925)
A. Aleksandrov: Sonata n. 6 op. 26 (1926)
B. Ljatošinskij: Sonata n. 1 op. 13 (1926)
L. Polovinkin: Sonata n. 3 op. 15 (1926)
D. Šostakovič: Sonata n. 1 (1926)
A. Saposnikov: Sonata in mi minore (1926)
J. A. Šaporin: Sonata n. 2 op. 7 (1927)
A. Mosolov: Sonata n. 2 op. 4 (1927)
V. Šebalin: Sonata (1927)
A. Mosolov: Sonata n. 4 op. 11(1928)
D. Kabalevskij: Sonata in fa minore op. 6 (1928)
A. Mosolov: Sonata n. 5 op. 12 (1929)
B. Ljatošinskij: Sonata n. 2 op. 18 (1930)
N. Medtner: Sonata romantica in si b minore op.   53 n. 1(1930)
N. Medtner: Sonata tempestosa in fa minore op.53 n. 2 (1930)

In the month of  October 1995, the Judging Committee, constituted by Loris Azzaroni, Mario Baroni, Marco De Natale, Piero Rattalino and Paolo Troncon, awarded the first prize of the “Nicolas Slonomskij” Competition to Roberto Scarcella Perino for his analysis of the Second Sonata by Aleksandr Skrjabin. The winning essay was published by Ricordi on the review “Analisi” (September 1996), organ of the Societŕ Italiana di Analisi Musicale, chairman Marco De Natale.



Index | Studies | Compositions | Music Writings
 Cultural Promotion | Orchestra Conduction 
Exhibitions | Lectures | Festivals
| Links

Via Pontevecchio 16, 40139, Bologna (Italia)
Tel. 051 546682

© Copyright 2002 Luigi Verdi